This blog is meant for use by members of the Association for news and views. Send comments / suggestions / views to e-mail Id:

Friday, November 28, 2014

Deputation of Inspector Posts/Assistant Superintendent of Posts in the Directorate

To view please Click Here.

India Post takes up 5,000 crore investment project to utilize e-commerce based opportunity

SILIGURI: E mail, social networking or instant chats. All these Internet based services might have taken blood out of India Post while transforming communication in the country from paper based 'Letters' to electron based 'Data.' But E-Commerce, based upon the same internet is now going to pump in fresh blood to India post's veins prompting it to go for Rs 7,000 crore worth connectivity augmentation project. 

"The e-commerce battle is growing at fast pace throughout the country. And there lies our new opportunity," says Mr. John Samuel, member of Postal Services Board. India Post is taking up a connectivity revamping project worth Rs 7000 Crore to utilize this opportunity. 

"Wide and fast growing coverage of Internet through computer and mobile phones are bringing more and more people from even remote corners to the doorsteps of E Commerce sites. But delivery of the items is an issue where India Post excel's with its 1.5 lakh establishments and time tested connectivity network," he said. 

E Commerce giant Alibaba in China or Amazon in US largely depend on their respective Postal Service. It's true that the same can happen in India too. But, "We need to bring in some change in our own attitude at certain corners and modernize our connectivity, physical as well as electronic," accepted Mr. Samuel. 

India Post is now taking up a new-age IT project, at an approximate cost of Rs. 4909 crores. In addition, another Rs 2000 crore is being spent to add up vehicles to its nationwide fleet to ensure 'delivery on time,' a must for the E Commerce organizations.

Source:-The Economic Times

Allotment of seats for Induction training of IP (Departmental) from 19.01.2015 to 18.04.2015 (13 weeks) at PTC Saharanpur(UP)

Sl. No.
Name of the Circle
Seats Allotted

Andhra Pradesh
Himachal Pradesh
Madhya Pradesh
North East
Uttar Pradesh


Pre-implementation activities towards preparedness of Branch Post Office for Rural ICT implementation:-

      I.        The BO should have table to place the Handheld Device and for charging the device.

    II.        The electrical power connection is required to charge the Solar UPS wherever power is available. In the locations where electrical power is not available, the UPS will be charged from Solar Panel.

  III.        The locations where electrical power connection is there, it should have proper earthing and with one or two plug points along with on/off switch.

   IV.        The above site preparation is to be done before the roll out starts for the particular Division.

     V.        The data on BO such as the name of the BPM, contact details, address of the BO with land marks etc. may be updated and kept ready.

   VI.        The availability of the network connectivity (Vodafone/ BSNL / Airtel etc.) at the BO location may also accessed and the best signal available in the BO may be identified and kept in order to facilitate the Vendor with details to drive best out of the project. If the network signal is not available, we have to identify as Off-line BO.

 VII.        Similarly identification of the BOs where the solar UPS is not required due to installation problems of the solar panel or good power availability for more than 6 hours daily, has to be also done.  

To view the format for collection of desired information in respect of Branch Post Offices please Click Here.

The complete information in respect of all BOs is to be uploaded to the specific webpage domain name (to be circulated shortly) on the India Post website by 30-12-2014.

Source:-Department of Posts (RB Division) Letter No.01-07/2014-RB dated 27-11-2014. 

Alignment of Service Rules with the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act 2013.

To view Department of Personel and Training OM No.11013/2/2014 Estt (A.III) dated 27/11/2014 please Click Here.

Central Civil Services (Leave Travel Concession) Rules, 1988 - Relaxation to travel by private airlines to visit J and K.

To view Department of Personnel and Training OM No.31011/7/2014-Estt.(A-IV)  dated 28/11/2014 please Click Here.

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Renaming / Change in Functional email IDs of Berhampur, Bhubaneswar and Cuttack City Postal Divisions of Odisha Circle

Sl. No.
Functional email ID
Bhubaneswar HQ
Bhubaneswar HQ
Cuttack City

Filling up of vacancies on deputation in Centre for Excellence in Postal Technology.

To view please Click Here.

Aadhaar based authentication of Life Certificate for pensioners.

To view Department of Pension & Pensioners' Welfare OM No. 1/19/2014-P&PW (E) DATED 25-11-2014 please Click Here.

Central Civil Services (Conduct) Second Amendment Rules, 2014.

To view please Click Here.

In the Central Civil Services (Conduct), Rules, 1964, for rule 3C, the following rule shall be 'substituted, namely :-

`3C. Prohibition of sexual harassment of working women, - (1) No Government servant shall indulge in any act of sexual harassment of any woman at any work place.
(2) Every Government servant who is incharge of a work place shaii take appropriate steps to prevent sexual harassment to any woman at the work place.
Explanation. - (I) For the purpose of this rule, -

(a) "sexual harassment" includes any one or more of the following acts or behaviour (whether directly or by implication) namely : -

(i) physical contact and advances; or
(ii) a demand or request for sexual favours; or
(iii) making sexually coloured remarks; or
(iv) showing pornography; or
(vi) any other unwelcome physical, verbal, non-verbal conduct of a sexual nature.

(b) the following circumstances, among other circumstances, if it occurs or is present in relation to or connected with any act or behaviour of sexual harassment may amount to sexual harassment : -
(I) implied or explicit promise of preferential treatment in employment; or
(ii) implied or explicit threat of detrimental treatment in employment; or
(iii) implied or explicit threat about her present or future employment status; or
(iv) interference with her work or creating an intimidating or offensive or hostile work environment for her; or
(v) humiliating treatment likely to affect her health or safety.

(c)"workplace" includes,-

(i) any department, organisation, undertaking, establishment, enterprise, institution, office, branch or unit which is established, owned, controlled or wholly or substantially financed by funds provided directly or indirectly by the Central Government;
(ii) hospitals or nursing homes;
(iii) any 'sports institute, stadium, sports complex or competition or games venue, whether residential or not used for training, sports or other activities relating thereto;
(iv) any place visited by the employee arising out of or during the course of employment including transportation provided by the employer for undertaking such journey;
(v) a dwelling place or a house.'.